Lake Deneys Yacht Club

(27) 016371 1393
079 472 0093 (Office)
082 570 3367 (Manager)
        Please note that cell-phone reception is not very good
(27) 016371 2343
Club Manager:
Postal Address
PO Box40, Deneysville, 1932

LDYC Logo.jpg (6009 bytes)

• Home • Up • Programme • Results • Handicaps • Press Release • Sponsors •

horizontal rule

Media Release 7th February 2013
For Immediate Release 

Nacras nail Line Honours in the ‘Round the Island Race 2013’ 

Of the 323-strong fleet that started on Sunday 3rd February in the 55th annual race hosted by Lake Deneys Yacht Club (LDYC), Vaal Dam, those on the village side of the line had a clean if very slow getaway in an extremely light easterly breeze but with more wind than boats on the south eastern end.  

In the Ultra Class (limited to 50 first start entrants), Marc Hammick on Nacra F20 ‘Swamp Critter’ pulled away initially, hotly pursued by Ben Mienie’s Dragonfly ‘Krokodil’ on the north western shoreline end.  

Skipper Wolf Seitz and son Marco on Nacra F20 ‘QE ll’ had an eastern start but quickly crossed right across the fleet onto the western side on the same tack. Seitz and Jonathan Crawford accompanied by Brian Lion-Cachet on Multi 23 ‘Faster’ stayed on the western side. Crawford and Wolf chose the western side to round the Island along its shoreline while Michael Vijverberg also sailing a Multi 23 and Hammick opted for the eastern peninsula shoreline.   

After 45 minutes the wind did a 180 degree shift and filled in from the northwest at some 10 knots continuing to favour the western boats and causing a wall of spinnakers from behind to overtake the front runners. This converging of the fleet caused the biggest traffic jam in the history of the race at the first mark as 300 boats were jockeying for space at the rounding.  This bunching of the fleet at the Island’s rounding mark was an amazing sight with spinnakers bulging and classes fighting it out for water (space) to get around. The current Lipton champion, Ricky Robinson sailing the family’s trimaran was so pressured by the surrounding boats that he had no choice but to sail straight over the mark, completely submerging it for a few seconds.    

 Wind was building at the back of the Island and maintained up to 12 knots at times on the beat/fetch back around the other side of the Island to the finish line. Seitz pulled completely clear of his 3 competitors whilst Hammick caught and pulled past Crawford’s Multi 23.  

The Seacart 30 ‘The Bog Monster’, which set the current record of 55 minutes and 37 seconds in 2007, was skippered by Alex Schon. He was initially caught up in the chaotic clustering of the fleet round the Island, but managed to break free to mount an impressive attack on the 5 leaders, eventually finishing in 4th place across the line.


LDYC’s Austin Daly elaborated, ‘Friday’s races were slightly dampened by little wind, Saturday’s morning race had fair wind while the afternoon’s competitors enjoyed between 6 and 12 knots.’

‘Sunday dawned bright and clear with an slow easterly of 4 to 5 knots - a dodgy start that for a while looked like it was going to be a 9-hour drifter. The shift to an enthusiastic northeaster caused the frenzied bottleneck. The wind maintained a steady blow for the majority of the fleet back dowVaal Dam to the finish line with the last boat crossing the line by 14h15. The weekend of racing was thoroughly enjoyed. The majority of the entrants come along purely for the fun of it and that was certainly had!


The complete results can be viewed on The top winners are: 

Line Honours:

1st Nacra 20 ‘QE ll’ skippered by Wolf Seitz in 2 hours, 35 minutes, 44 seconds

2nd Nacra 20 ‘Swamp Critter’ skippered by Marc Hammick in 2 hours, 41 minutes, 26 seconds

3rd Multi 23 ‘Faster’ skippered by Jonathan Crawford in 2 hours, 51 minutes, 27 seconds


On Handicap:


1st Viking22 Twin Keel ‘Pheuduka’ skippered by CJC Nel

2nd Mirror ‘Audio Network’ skippered by Graham Clifford

3rd Gypsey ‘Wandering Jemima’ skippered by Francois Viljoen 

Prize giving will be held at LDYC on Saturday 9th February at 17h00.


Issued on behalf of LDYC by

Vanessa Remmington

Mama Action

082 520 0969

horizontal rule

Media Release for SA Sailing 

Round the Island Regatta Celebrates 55th Anniversary with R30,000 in Cash Prizes  

Lake Deneys Yacht Club (LDYC), host of the annual event, has increased the cash prizes up for grabs from R10,000 to R30,000 in the Round the Island Regatta, which runs from Friday 1st February to Sunday 3rd February 2013.  

LDYC’s Commodore Tielman Burger explained that the Round the Island Committee had noted that although keelboats and multihull participation quotas have been fairly steady, the numbers of dinghies has been steadily diminishing over the years. “We want the dinghies back! To encourage the class we are offering a tiered cash prize structure. We have also kept the racing format we introduced in 2012 of 3 starts instead of 5. The first will be the Ultra Class, a maximum of 50 boats with a handicap of 1.00 and above, racing the faster boats of other classes, followed by keelers and micro-multihulls in the second start. The third start will be for all cats and dinghies. “  

Cash Prizes Up For Grabs 

The tiered cash prizes specifically for dinghies are:

·  71 or more finishers - R5, 000 to first finisher on handicap.

·  51-70 finishers - R3, 000 to first finisher on handicap.

·  20-50 finishers - R2,000 to first finisher on handicap 

The Club has also added two other cash prizes open to all classes: 

·  Friday’s Commodore’s Cup – R2,000 for first on handicap

·  Vaaldam Drifter – R1, 000.  This goes to the first boat in each and every class (irrespective of weather) to reach the first mark, provided 10 boats of that class round the mark. This is to encourage competitors in the event of a ‘float and fry’ drifter which has deterred entrants in past years from finishing the course.   

The long-standing R10,000 prize for the first boat to break the existing elapsed time record set by Danie Colyn on a Seacart in 2007,  of 55 minutes 37 seconds remains in place. This prize excludes windsurfers and yachts with hydroplaning abilities.  

Sponsorship negotiations with SAMSA (South African Maritime Safety Authority), who has been the official regatta sponsor since 2011, are currently underway.   

The Clubhouse and surrounds is undergoing major structural improvements to complement the recently re-vamped ablution blocks. The harbour is being expanded to accommodate larger and more craft. Completion is scheduled for year end. The weekend will again feature a big screen on which live footage of the start and finish will be watched by the onshore crowd. Sailors and visitors alike can enjoy the usual bar, catering, air shows, top-notch live entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights and great prizes in a lucky draw and raffles. Ample camping and caravan space is available. At a price of R70 a head over 16 years of age for the entire weekend it is unbeatable value for money. 

To download entry forms and the Notice of Regatta visit

Contact LDYC on 016 371-1393 or email 


Issued by Vanessa Remmington on behalf of LDYC

082 520 0969

horizontal rule

Locations of visitors to this page
Questions or problems regarding this web site should be directed to   
Copyright  1997 -
Ads For Africa. All rights reserved.
Last modified on : 06 Dec 2016